Nevada Car Insurance Laws & State Minimum Coverage Limits

Nevada car insurance laws require minimum liability rates of 25/50/20, although most drivers choose to carry higher limits. Nevada drivers must provide proof of insurance upon request during a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. Failure to do so can result in penalties.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

Full Bio →

Written by Eric Stauffer
Founder & Former Insurance Agent Eric Stauffer

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years Leslie Kasperowicz

UPDATED: Mar 4, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Nevada State Flag

The state of Nevada requires all drivers to carry insurance in order to comply with financial responsibility laws. These laws protect all drivers on the road by ensuring that they can pay for damages caused in an at-fault accident. Currently, Nevada requires only basic liability insurance.

Mandatory Coverage

Nevada law mandates that all drivers have at least the legal minimum in coverage for liability. This insurance will pay for injuries, damages, and death in an accident. The legal minimums in Nevada are:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury, and $50,000 per incident to pay for all parties injured in a single accident
  • $20,000 for property damage to pay for damage to another person’s vehicle or any other property damaged in the accident

While these are the legal minimums, most drivers choose to carry higher limits due to the high cost of car accidents, particularly serious ones. In addition to higher liability limits, there are several other options drivers can select from to provide financial protection.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Optional Coverage

Nevada drivers can create a comprehensive policy by selecting from a list of optional features available from Nevada insurers.

The most common options include:

  • Collision – pays for damage to your vehicle in the event that you are found at fault in an accident. The more expensive a car is to replace, the more important this coverage becomes.
  • Comprehensive – provides coverage for non-accident damages, such as those caused by theft, vandalism, weather, and fire. This coverage generally also has a glass-only benefit to repair broken, cracked, or chipped auto glass.
  • The Uninsured/Under insured Motorist – pays for damages caused by another driver who is either uninsured or under insured – meaning their limits are not high enough to cover all the damage.
  • Towing and Labor – pays for towing and other roadside assistance needs in a non-accident situation.
  • Rental Reimbursement – pays for the use of a rental car during a covered claim.

Insurance companies may offer a variety of other options and add-ons to complete your car insurance policy and add extra value and coverage.

Proof of Insurance Laws and Penalties

Nevada drivers must provide proof of insurance upon request to law enforcement during a traffic stop or at the scene of an accident. Failure to provide proof can result in penalties.

Nevada uses an electronic system to ensure that all vehicles on the road in the state are properly insured. Drivers must provide insurance information to the DMV, and it can be added, changed, and updated online through the MyDMV online services site.

If the liability insurance is canceled or lapses on a vehicle, the state requires that the license plates be surrendered. Registration will immediately be suspended, and the owner will send a verification request by mail. Failure to respond to their request within 15 days will result in the mailing of a certified letter, to which you will have 10 days to respond. Failing this, penalties will apply.

Nevada’s penalties for insurance lapses are based on a tiered system of increasing fees and penalties based on how long the insurance has been lapsed for and how many lapses the same driver has had.

For a first offense:

  • The reinstatement fee is $251
  • After the first 30 days, an additional $251 fine is added
  • After 90 days the fine rises to $501 and an SR-22 will be required
  • After 180 days, the fine rises to $1001 and an SR-22 will be required

For a second offense:

  • The reinstatement fee is $501
  • After the first 30 days, an additional $501 is added
  • After 90 days, the fine stays the same, but an SR-22 is required
  • After 180 days, the fine increases to $1001 and an SR-22 is required

For a third offense: An SR-22 is required immediately, the driver’s license is suspended for at least 30 days, and:

  • The reinstatement fee is $751
  • After 30 days, an additional fine of $501 is added
  • After 90 days, the additional fine goes up to $751
  • After 180 days, the additional fine goes up to $1001

Additionally, if the registration has been suspended and you are caught driving, your license plates will be confiscated and the vehicle impounded.

Shopping for Car Insurance in Nevada

Nevada falls right around the national average for car insurance rates. According to a 2017 study, Nevada falls at number 20 among all states, with rates just below the average at $1342. Nevada drivers can shop around to reduce their car insurance rates.

Nevada insurance companies use a variety of factors to determine rates. It is legal in Nevada to use credit scores in the insurance underwriting process. The Nevada Division of Insurance site provides helpful information to drivers regarding shopping for insurance and how rates are determined.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

High-Risk Drivers

Some drivers may be considered to be high-risk as a consequence of tickets or accidents on their driving records. As a result, insurance companies may increase rates or even, in extreme circumstances, refuse coverage to these drivers.

Nevada participates in an assigned risk program through which high-risk drivers can obtain the insurance they need to drive legally. This system assigns each driver to a particular insurance company, which is required to provide a policy. Although the insurance company must provide the needed insurance, they will still charge higher rates to high-risk drivers.

Teen Drivers in Nevada

Teen drivers in Nevada must go through a multi-level graduate licensing program in order to get a full driver’s license. Each stage has its own particular rules and restrictions that must be followed until the teen passes to the next level.

Instruction Permit

This permit is available at 15.5 years old and allows teens to drive while supervised during the initial stages of learning to drive. To be eligible for a permit, teens must be enrolled in school and pass a written knowledge test.

Restricted Driver’s License

At 16 years old, teen drivers can apply for a restricted license, as long as they have met the requirements:

  • Have passed an approved driver education course
  • Have completed 50 hours of driving practice with at least 10 of those hours after dark (or 100 hours in certain situations)
  • Have held a permit for at least 6 months
  • Be enrolled in school

With the restricted license drivers must follow the following rules:

  • No passengers under the age of 18 are permitted unless they are immediate family members for the first 6 months
  • Drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between the hours of 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless for an approved work or school purpose.
    • The curfew hour has moved back to 9 p.m. in certain areas of Nevada. In Las Vegas, driving is not permitted after 9 p.m. on the strip, but the curfew is extended to midnight on Friday and Saturday nights.
    • In Reno, the 9 p.m. curfew applies in the gambling district, but the curfew is at midnight in all other areas on weeknights.

Full License

At 18 years old, all teen drivers graduate from the restrictions and drive with a full license.

All teen drivers, regardless of restriction level, must obey the financial responsibility laws. Teens can be covered under the car insurance policy of a parent or guardian even when away from school until they establish their own residence.

How much auto insurance am I required to have in Nevada?

Starting July 1, 2018, the minimum motor vehicle liability insurance coverage will increase to $25,000 in bodily injury per person, $50,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $20,000 in property damage (“25/50/20”). For more information, please visit the Division’s web page on the higher minimum vehicle liability requirements.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Do Nevada’s required minimums provide enough coverage?

Bodily injury limits can be reached quickly with even moderate injuries, especially if you injure more than one person. Also, $20,000 in property damage coverage is hardly enough to cover the cost of a new vehicle, leaving you at risk to covering other damages out of your own pocket.

Increasing your liability limits is highly recommended. Most insurance professionals would suggest limits of at least 50/100/50. Those with more assets, a house, for instance, would do well to go even higher. Also, keep in mind that liability provides no coverage for you or your passengers, so other coverage options should be considered to add further protection.

I just got a new car. Do I need full auto insurance coverage in Nevada?

You should get insurance because if something happens to your car, you want to be covered. You’ll want to have collision and comprehensive coverage.

Is Nevada a No-Fault State?

Fault doesn’t matter in a car accident because Nevada is a fault state. A tort state means that the person found to be at fault for an accident must pay for any damage caused by the accident.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The Bottom Line

Nevada state law requires that every person who drives must carry auto liability insurance. A person who doesn’t have insurance could get into trouble if he or she is caught driving without insurance. Suspension of license and fines depend on how long the insurance policy has lapsed and how often the person was caught driving without insurance.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption