Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws & State Minimum Coverage Limits

Wisconsin car insurance laws require minimum liability rates of 25/50/10 for bodily injury and property damage coverage. As a driver in WI, you will want to carry more than the bare minimum coverage as you could be held personally liable for injuries and damages you cause above the insurance limits.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Eric Stauffer is a former insurance agent and banker turned consumer advocate. His priority is to help educate individuals and families about the different types of insurance they need, and assist them in finding the best place to get it.

Full Bio →

Written by Eric Stauffer
Founder & Former Insurance Agent Eric Stauffer

Leslie Kasperowicz holds a BA in Social Sciences from the University of Winnipeg. She spent several years as a Farmers Insurance CSR, gaining a solid understanding of insurance products including home, life, auto, and commercial and working directly with insurance customers to understand their needs. She has since used that knowledge in her more than ten years as a writer, largely in the insuranc...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Leslie Kasperowicz
Farmers CSR for 4 Years Leslie Kasperowicz

UPDATED: Mar 24, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

Wisconsin is notorious for being one of the worst states in the country for drunk drivers, thanks in part to the way state laws handle inebriated motor vehicle operators. The good news is drunk driving fatalities have got down steadily since their peak in the 1970s, and the state no longer ranks at the top for drunk driving fatalities.

Despite the state’s reputation for DUIs, Wisconsin actually has some of the cheapest car insurance premiums in the country. A 2017 study by Insure.com ranked the state as 37th with the annual average premium being $1154. To compare, the most expensive annual average premiums was in Michigan, who ranks first with auto insurance rates of $2394.

The availability of cheap car insurance costs in Wisconsin is likely due in part to the low auto insurance coverage limits required by state laws.

Required Coverage and Limits

The following coverage is required on all vehicles in Wisconsin:

  • Property Damage Liability – Pays for damages to other vehicles and property that you might damage with your own car. The minimum limit is $10,000.
  • Bodily Injury Liability – Pays for injuries that you cause to another person when you are at fault for an accident. You must carry at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident in injury liability.
  • Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist: Helps you cover costs of injuries to yourself and others in the vehicle should you be involved in an accident with a driver without insurance or one who does not have enough insurance. Minimum requirements are $25,000 per person and $50,000 for total injuries per accident.

As a driver in the state, you will probably want to carry more than the bare minimum coverage, as you could be held personally liable for injuries or damages you cause that is above the required insurance limits. Fortunately, optional coverage is typically always available. You may also wish to carry first-party insurance to pay for the damages to your own vehicle. If you lease your car or are making payments on it, this first-party coverage will most likely be required by your lienholder to ensure financial responsibility.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Special Notes About Wisconsin Auto Insurance

Tort State

Wisconsin is a tort state, meaning that the person at fault for an accident is responsible for the injuries of the victim. The victim can take that driver to court to sue for medical expenses or pain and suffering that arise from an auto accident. This means that you are not required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) coverage on your own vehicle since your auto insurance is not expected to always cover your injuries. However, you can purchase medical payments coverage (MedPay) to help with your own healthcare costs after an accident.

Drunk Driving

According to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Wisconsin has the highest rate of drunk driving in the country, with over a quarter of drivers reporting in a survey that they had driven under the influence in the previous year.

Despite this, Wisconsin continues to be very lax in its drunk driving laws when compared to other states. Driving while intoxicated is treated more as a traffic violation than a crime in Wisconsin, with the first offense being subject to a $150-300 fine and no threat of confinement. If the driver’s BAC is above 0.15, the vehicle may be fitted with an ignition interlocking device, but this is not always enforced. You can see the full legal ramifications of drunk driving on the Wisconsin Department of Transportation site.

Phone Use/Distracted Driving

Some states prohibit cell phone use while driving or limit it only to hands-free devices. Wisconsin is not so strict.

Drivers with probationary licenses or learner’s permits, regardless of age, cannot use cell phones while driving. This also applies to the use of hands-free devices. However, drivers with an unrestricted license are allowed to talk and drive, although it is discouraged due to the risk of distracted driving.

Obviously, it’s difficult to determine from looking at a driver whether or not he is using a probationary license. For this reason, most cell phone infractions are enforced secondarily to other issues, like speeding, after the police officer pulls over the driver.

There is one important distinction for Wisconsin cell phone owners: While talking on the phone is legal for fully licensed drivers in the state, texting while driving is against the law regardless of your age or type of license you carry.

Teen Driving Rules & Laws

To obtain a driver’s license in Wisconsin, you must first complete a driver’s education course, pass the written test and drive for 30 hours, 10 of which must be at night, with a learner’s permit under the supervision of a licensed adult. You must also be either enrolled in high school or hold a GED; chronically truant students and teens who have dropped out of school cannot obtain a driver’s license in Wisconsin.

Once your driving hours are complete, you can take the driving test. If this is passed, you will receive a probationary license. All new drivers, regardless of age, begin with probationary licenses. To apply, you must not have had any infractions in the previous six months. For at least nine months, and up to the time you turn 18, you will hold this probationary license.

The probationary license is subject to a few limitations:

  • You may only have one under-aged passenger who is not an immediate relative.
  • You cannot drive between midnight and 5 a.m. unless required for school or work.
  • You must wear a seatbelt at all times.
  • You must not drink while driving.
  • You cannot use a cell phone while driving unless it’s being used to report an emergency.

Any infractions will lead to an extension of the probationary license. If you drive safely for nine months and do not break any of the above rules, you can graduate to a full, unrestricted license.

Are you looking for free insurance quotes?

Your one-stop online insurance guide. Get free quotes now!

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption